Irresponsible sex, an abortion and a video of the procedure will always be special memories …. ?

06

The video and story of Emily Letts are making the rounds of the internet right now, so you probably already know all about her. If not, let me fill you in. Emily is a sex educator and abortion counselor at the Cherry Hill Women’s Center in New Jersey. She had a surgical abortion with local anesthesia at the Women’s Center, which she filmed and submitted to the Abortion Care Network’s Stigma Busting video contest. The video has gone viral.

She also wrote an article for Cosmopolitan, explaining why she filmed her abortion. She says she did it in an effort to combat the notion that all women who have an abortion are emotional, guilt-riddled messes. She also says that she wanted to bust the myth that an abortion is a dangerous, scary procedure by showing women exactly what it’s like to have one, while it’s happening. If you’re interested, you can read her article here.

I am not writing this to argue for or against the practice or legality of abortion. Those cats been let out of the bag, and they can’t be stuffed back in. A raft of rhetoric swirls on both sides of the debate, and we’ve all heard it all. I’m not trying to add to anyone’s load of guilt, or frighten anyone. However, I have alot of issues with Emily Letts’ experience and her treatment of it.

For starters, in the article, she admits that she wasn’t using birth control when she got pregnant. Really? You’re a sex educator and abortion counselor, and you weren’t using birth control? That is not only irresponsible, but incomprehensible. It appears that Ms. Letts has been an avid student of human reproduction and birth, and an abortion advocate, for quite some time. She has seen many women come through the doors of the Women’s Center whose lives are in turmoil because of unwanted pregnancy, and yet she didn’t feel the need to protect herself from the same situation? “The guy wasn’t involved in my decision”, she says – but she doesn’t say whether he was informed, either. She claims that, shortly after scheduling her abortion, she decided she needed to use it to help other women who are facing the same decision. Her recounting of the situation is unconvincing. My first question, which is still floating around in my mind, is whether this was an actual accidental pregnancy or a set-up for a provoking video and a whole lot of attention.

Then, she goes on to describe her abortion experience ….

“I remember breathing and humming through it like I was giving birth. I know that sounds weird, but to me, this was as birth-like as it could be. It will always be a special memory for me. I still have my sonogram, and if my apartment were to catch fire, it would be the first thing I’d grab.” She later says “every time I watch the video, I love it”. Vacation videos, wedding videos, birth videos, abortion videos …. All equally precious and uplifting, I guess? Emily’s gushing about a video of herself having an abortion is disturbing – and, frankly, insulting to women who take their choice seriously and can’t describe it in such airy, glowing terms.

Emily is right – there are lots of women who have abortions with no regret, or even a second thought. To these women, it is an easy solution to an undesirable health issue. However, I doubt that they consider their terminated pregnancy to be a special memory. If conception and subsequent abortion are no big deal, why does she still have her sonagram and count it among her most precious possessions? Does anyone other than me find it bizarre and repugnant that she adores the image of a baby she had killed by doctors? I know, I know – to supporters of abortion, it’s not a baby, it’s a clump of cells. But that’s not how Emily herself sees it. In her video, she says “I am in awe of the fact that I can make a baby, I can make a life”.

No, Emily. All the mothers out there who are raising and nurturing their children every day, all the mothers who cannot be with their children but chose to give birth to them all the same – they made babies. They made lives. You had the opportunity to make a life. Instead, you chose to end life, and use the footage as a publicity stunt.

Note: A complaint I’ve read frequently is that pro-life publications use photos of nearly full-term fetuses to add to the guilt of women who have had or are considering having an abortion, when the majority of abortions are performed very early in pregnancy. So, the image above is not anywhere near that. It’s an embryo just six weeks after the sperm hits the egg. It’s past the stage where it’s shaped like a cocktail shrimp, and now resembles an alien. But nobody can look at it and deny that it is human. Until now, I wouldn’t have thought that anyone could find its destruction to be a triumph worthy of filming and fond reminiscing. Then came Emily Letts.

 

12 thoughts on “Irresponsible sex, an abortion and a video of the procedure will always be special memories …. ?

  1. Agreed Beth! This made me really sad. As a person who experienced two very traumatic first trimester miscarriages, it changed my view forevermore on what all is actually there early on in the first few weeks of life.

    • Niki, there is more to EVERYTHING than meets our very limited eyes – and this is just another piece of the puzzle. As I said, I’m not trying to change anyone’s mind or make anyone feel bad about their life – I’m just appalled that so many are ready to make this woman a hero, when all I see is a cry for attention and capitalizing off shocker journalism.

  2. I refuse to watch the video. The abortion I had was traumatic and it caused me serious psychological problems. I find it very irresponsible of her to admit that she didn’t use birth control. Shame on her.

    • G., I’m so sorry that happened to you. Thank you for reading, and for sharing your experience and opinion. I hope that you’ve been able to find some peace and healing.

  3. I read about this on Mommyish where one very important fact was left out- she was entering this video in a contest! Wow! I did not know that, which makes this whole story even more sickening. The fact that she didn’t use BC, she watches the video like some sort of sadistic snuff film, and she seems to be overall elated about the whole experience makes me ill to my stomach. And what’s with the sonogram? Wouldn’t keeping that for her be like me keeping a picture of a wart I had removed? I mean, usually women who do this feel it’s nothing more than that famous cluster of cells line. Why on earth would she have a connection to what amounts to a wart that needed to be burned off? I know many women will say “who cares why she did it or what her reason was IT’S HER CHOICE”, but as you can plainly see from the image above, that is not just a cluster of cells. It is a forming baby. I read some disturbing comments on this story, ranging from “if I saw that (meaning the image of the baby) walking down the street I’d say kill it! Kill it with fire”! to referring to abortion as “no big deal”. I am obviously not pro choice and I don’t usually shove my views down people’s throats. But to completely deny and show not an iota of human compassion for what is so obviously a forming human being is just beyond comprehension. I know this will sound contradictory to everything I just said, but I don’t judge women who choose abortion. I think I manage that by making up reasons in my head as to why they had to do it. Yes, I KNOW, you don’t need a reason, but I do to keep sane. I should clarify that- I definitely do judge if a woman uses it as her primary form of BC or is as flippant as this crazy is. I do know there are women who truly have compassion and have gone through abortion and feel traumatized for a very long time, maybe even their entire lives. I absolutely empathize with them. We’re all human and hopefully do what we think is best at the time we do it. It’s just these pro choice zealots who seem to overly defend abortion that get to me. Kill it! Suck it out! I can’t stand that mindset. Anyway, she definitely got pregnant on purpose, and she definitely did it with the intention of making a video that she could enter into a contest. She has achieved her 15 minutes, and it’s too bad that she won’t be called out on her dirty tactics because it’s not PC to question anyone’s reason for having an abortion.
    By the way, will she share this video with any future children she may elect to let live? Since she loves it so much? Perhaps a side by side picture frame of aborted baby’s sonogram and living baby’s kindergarten picture? I mean honestly, her attachment to these things are quite bizarre, considering she was not in the least bit torn about having an abortion. She got pregnant for one reason-to get a videotaped abortion and get famous. There was absolutely no angst on her part about this decision. It was her joy with the whole thing that I think really sets me off.
    End of rant-sorry about the short novel but this woman is mentally ill and makes me see red.

    • Hello! Please don’t apologise; thank you for sharing your thoughts. One of the reasons I started a blog is that I love back-and-forth. I appreciate your passion.

  4. I don’t understand why people can get an abortion in the first place. To me it’s the same as killing someone on the street. I mean if you don’t want to baby then you use birth-control or don’t have sex that simple. But to get pregnant on purpose and then turn around have an abortion brings tears. I went through the miscarriages and one of them ended up being a Dnc and I have had problems ever sence cause I feel like I killed my baby. Because my baby was dying but the doctors said there was nothin they could do to save it. And I live with guilt every day because of that and a part of me died to. I don’t see why she views of abortion as same as giving birth because birth is bring life or the intent on bringing life into the world and abortion is just death point blank. That’s the end of my rant.

    • Thank you for sharing your story and your viewpoint; I pray that you find peace and happiness in your life. For alot of us, it’s black-and-white – but I sometimes feel like we’re not loud enough, and so people don’t think about our opinion.

  5. Pingback: My underwhelming return to Facebook …. | BethBlog

  6. Pingback: Constitutional rights of conscience, religion, thought, belief, opinion, expression and association – but only if your conscience toes the ruling party’s line? | BethBlog

Leave a comment