A dozen reasons to read Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol” ….

Again with the reblogging – this is the last one, I promise! I’m sharing this post from last Christmas because I’ve started my annual reading of Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol”, and the beauty of the book is touching my heart again.

BethBlog

Scrooges_third_visitor-John_Leech,1843

Every year, during the glittery days approaching December 25, I devote several evenings to lying on the couch next to the Christmas tree and reading Charles Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol”. I have done this since I was a teenager. Back then, when I had very few responsibilities and endless energy, I would read it all in one night – Christmas Eve night, in fact, staying up sometimes til four a.m. to finish it. Can’t really do that now that I’m one of the makers of Christmas for two little girls – but I still take the time to stroll through that lovely old book. It’s part of my Christmas celebration. I’ve always disliked commercials that urge people to “buy a gift for yourself this Christmas” – alot of us spend all year doing that – but I did buy myself a gift two Christmases ago. I bought a beautiful red hard-cover edition, complete…

View original post 2,160 more words

Leave a Reply

