Smoother than a fresh jar of Skippy!

BrunoMars

I really don’t like Ground Hog Day. It’s pointless. Here’s why: it doesn’t matter what the freakin’ rodent sees what he pokes his mangy nose out of his den – on February 2, Canadians can always count on at least six more weeks of winter. And that would be a good winter …. Usually, it’s eight more weeks, or even ten more weeks. Winter is going to be hanging around, hurting people’s skin and throwing their backs out and reeking of wet mittens, until April. You can’t beat it, you don’t want to join it, and it’s eating you alive. So, how about some good music? That’s right, it’s time again for me to present my Top 40 of last year! I did this last year, too. This year, I’m a little more experienced when it comes to compiling a music chart, and I feel more confident about the placement of various songs. Oh, and for those who like to complain that there’s no good music anymore, that’s just not true! There are plenty of great songs out there, by talented people, in many different genres. I could easily have made a Top 100. This year, I’m also offering links to all forty songs, not just the Top 10. Not sure why I did that last year, but this year I declare it to be lame. Why shouldn’t you have a link to #34 or #27 or #11?

Ryan and I listened to all forty of these songs last Friday night. He is addicted to numbers, rankings and music. This makes him the ideal audience for my display of musical narcissism. Also, there were delicious snacks and unlimited drinks ….

(Just a friendly reminder: if you disagree with the methodology of this chart, I don’t care. It consists of songs that I came to know and love in 2014, and whether they were actually released in October of 2013 is of no importance to me. Don’t like it? Make your own chart. I’ll happily listen along, and I won’t question how you put it together.)

40. “River Bank” by Brad Paisley

39. “Me and My Broken Heart” by Rixton

38. “Automatic” by Miranda Lambert

37. “Unbelievers” by Vampire Weekend

36. “Hope You Get Lonely Tonight” by Cole Swindell

35. “Amnesia” by 5 Seconds of Summer

34. “I Lived” by OneRepublic

33. “Turn Down for What?” by DJ Snake & Lil Jon

32. “Diane Young” by Vampire Weekend

31. “Young Girls” by Bruno Mars

30. “Meanwhile Back at Mama’s” by Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

29. “Centuries” by Fall Out Boy

28. “Dangerous” by David Guetta & Sam Martin

27. “Guns + Ammunition” by July Talk

26. “Gotta Get Away” by Black Keys

25. “Boom Clap” by Charli XCX

24. “Problem” by Ariana Grande & Iggy Azalea

23. “I” by Kendrick Lamar

22. “Young Blood” by Bea Miller

21. “Brave” by Sara Bareilles

20. “I Wanna Get Better” by Bleachers

19. “Drunk on a Plane” by Dierks Bentley

18. “Classic” by Mkto

17. “American Kids” by Kenny Chesney

16. “Happy” by Pharell

15. “Figure It Out” by Royal Blood

14. “Talk Dirty” by Jason Derulo & 2Chainz

13. “Love Runs Out” by OneRepublic

12. “Don’t” by Ed Sheeran

11. “Fancy” by Iggy Azalea & Charli XCX

10. “I’m Ready” by Ajr

9. “Pop 101” by Marianas Trench & Anami Vice

8. “All About That Bass” by Meghann Trainor

7. “Black Widow” by Iggy Azalea & Rita Ora

6. “Wasted” by Tiesto & Matthew Koma

5. “Blank Space” by Taylor Swift

4. “Trumpets” by Jason Derulo

3. “Habits” by Tove Lo

2. “Counting Stars” by OneRepublic

1. “Uptown Funk” by Mark Ronson & Bruno Mars

My #1 song is infectious …. Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars are channelling James Brown with all the energy and talent – and none of the excessive perspiration. Hope you enjoyed the music! I’d love to hear what some of my esteemed readers liked among 2014’s musical offerings …. Chime in if you’re so inclined!

2 thoughts on “Smoother than a fresh jar of Skippy!

  1. Pingback: Your children need sex education – so get over your ick factor and let them have it. | BethBlog

  2. Pingback: Ladies and gentleman, it’s Talent(less) Show Season! | BethBlog

Leave a Reply

