Kitchen love: sugar, sugar!

Image

Admit it, now the Archies are singing in your head …. Go ahead and be goofy for a minute (or, to be exact, three minutes and one second)! Ok, now that our musical interlude is over, it’s time for more kitchen love! Did you think I’d forgotten the desserts? No way! Desserts are the best, and I saved the best for last. (Instead of frantically shovelling it into my gob like I’ve been known to do at times.) Like the soups, I couldn’t choose just one dessert. So, lucky you, I’m giving you two. The first one is carrot cake. I know what you are thinking: carrot cake? That’s nothing special. That’s what your granny likes. That’s the dried-up little square you take six of at the end of a Chinese buffet, knowing you’ll probably only eat two. I promise you: if you try the recipe I’m about to divulge, you will never think the same way about carrot cake again. This one is an oft-requested star in our house. Here goes ….

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup grated carrot

4 oz crushed pineapple, drained

1/4 cup crushed walnuts

12 oz cream cheese

3/4 cups butter

3 tsp vanilla

icing sugar (to taste)

Blend the first ten ingredients together, and bake in a greased cake pan at 350 F for thirty to forty minutes. For the frosting, cream the cream cheese and butter, then add vanilla and blend well. Gradually add icing sugar, by quarter cups, to taste.

The other dessert I’d like to share with you is a little more decadent …. If one can be a little decadent, that is. This one was invented by me, through trial and error, and has no name. In fact, I’ve never attempted to put it on paper (well, on screen) until now. It’s a branch of the cheesecake family tree, I guess. Maybe it should have a name …. All right. After thinking long and hard, I’m calling this dessert “The Beth”. There.

1 cup butter

2 cups flour

1 tsp almond extract

3/4 cups icing sugar

1/4 cup corn starch

16 oz cream cheese

1 cup icing sugar

1/3 cup coffee

1 oz Irish cream liqueur

1/2 cup dark chocolate

For the shell, mix the first five ingredients, and press firmly into a pie plate. Bake at 325 F for fifteen minutes. Cream the cream cheese and cup of icing sugar, then add coffee and liqueur. Blend until completely incorporated. Fill your shell with the cream cheese mixture. Melt the dark chocolate and drizzle it over the top of the dessert.

I hope you thoroughly enjoy all of the recipes I’ve tossed your way this week. Most of all, though, I hope you enjoy the experience of cooking them and sharing them with whoever your special someone is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

