My very own blog!

imagesCA6OIEKD

Today, I’ve finally done it – I’ve started a blog. I know, I know: who doesn’t have a blog? There are dogs, cats and horses with their own blog. There are approximately a grazillion other Beths with blogs, according to the Google.

For years, I’ve stood outside, looking in on the exciting world of bloggers. I have always loved to write, and I’ve kept a journal almost continuously since the age of seven. There’s just something satisfying about seeing my own words on paper …. It was a way to process events, a way to release and validate my feelings, a way to catch and hold moments that might otherwise have flown away, leaving no trace. Blogging, though, seems to be so much more than journaling. My words, published – public. People reading my writing – people I know, and even strangers. Agreeing, disagreeing, soaking in my carefully turned phrases. Perhaps even quoting them later, or even sharing a whole article with their friends.

So, what stopped me? A few things …. I am a terrible combination of perfectionist and procrastinator. To attain perfection, one must be diligent. If, however, one is adept at finding reasons to not do something, one finds that one’s tasks are often rushed and unpolished. A perfectionist would never allow anything that’s less than perfect through the gates. It’s the chicken and the egg and the chicken and the egg – and no blog. There was also a nasty voice inside my head, asking “who do you think you are”. Do I seriously think people are going to read my words, enjoy and relate, and even think that what I offer up is worth passing on? Really? How arrogant! I’ve read many blog posts that left me thinking sadly “I could never have said it like that – that’s just perfect”. Why would anyone read my post when they could read someone else’s – someone who says it just perfectly? How could I even have enough to say to fill more than a month’s worth of posts?

The temptation, though, has finally outstripped my reservations. The house is clean, for the next fifteen minutes, at least. Nothing needs painting or repair. The holidays are over, and the frenzy of activity surrounding them. There’s no one I need to catch up with. My life has returned to its regularly scheduled program. I have time to indulge my perfectionism – hence, no excuse to delay starting my blog. And I guess I am somewhat arrogant. Because, for every person who says it just perfectly, there’s someone who says it atrociously. If they can be bloggers, so can I! Not to mention that I’m a firstborn extravert who grew up in the eighties and nineties. I’ve enjoyed a lifetime of being told I’m awesome, and why wouldn’t everyone want to read what I write?

I guess the one remaining issue is my laziness …. I hope this blog doesn’t join a long list of worthy resolutions relegated to the scrap heap at the back of my mind, which includes (but is not limited to):

–        flossing every day

–        cleaning my house from top to bottom (yes, even the storage rooms and under the heavy appliances)

–        writing a novel

–        attempting to publish my poetry

–        losing ten pounds

–        only drinking wine on weekends

–        finding a new, cool, easy-to-manage hairstyle (well, finding a hairstyle at all, really)

–        reading “War and Peace”

–        mastering the French language

–        adding to my small collection of tattoos

–        getting up ten minutes earlier so that my mornings don’t bring me to the brink of hyperventilation

–        not yelling at my daughters

–        leaving on time to avoid despising every other driver between my house and wherever I’m going

We’ll see!

* A shout-out to Ryan for coming up with the name! Even someone with my abysmal memory can retain “BethBlog”.

24 thoughts on “My very own blog!

  1. This is great Beth! Love the colour scheme too 🙂 I just clicked on Bookmark the “permalink” (haven’t heard this term permalink before… feels like I’m making a long term commitment to BethBlog).

  2. I think you have to ignore perfectionism when doing something artistic. Your readers don’t know what words you struggled over, or which sentences you had to rewrite. They are here for the message and the glimpse of what you are sharing.
    I find I have the same problems with my photos, they won’t be perfect in my eyes, but to the subjects, or the people viewing them, they might love them for the message or sentiment they deliver. I frequently want to correct people who enjoy my pictures “but look, don’t you see how I screwed up that part right there?”…I’ve learned to suppress the urge and to allow people to enjoy it for whatever reason they do.

    Also, please never give up on weekday wine drinking. I figured that was a test to see if people were actually reading.

    • Ha, ha – I DID say that was on the scrap heap, didn’t I? And given that all kinds of stuff won’t leave me alone, it’s a resolution that will probably never get resurrected!

      Thanks for your perspective – sometimes, the act of saying something is more important than how it’s said.

  3. Pingback: Have a holly, jolly Christmas! No, really, you can …. here’s how. | BethBlog

  4. Pingback: A year of blogging in review …. | BethBlog

  5. Pingback: Today, I’m using the internet to complain about how the internet affects me. | BethBlog

  6. Pingback: 35 Things | BethBlog

  7. Pingback: Walk by faith, wherever your faith lies. | BethBlog

  8. Pingback: Lament for the Robert’s Arm Public Library | BethBlog

  9. Pingback: My words seem to have dried up. | BethBlog

  10. Pingback: White chicks wearing headdresses at music festivals are not racists. | BethBlog

  11. Pingback: Music to roll you into your weekend …. | BethBlog

  12. Pingback: BethBlog

Leave a Reply

